From & nbspEuronews
Was published
Advertising
The Ministry of Culture of Greece announced that it behaves the restoration of the surviving sections of the paved routes and creating a new viewing network in order to facilitate the movement of visitors in the Zakintos castle.
Excavations revealed the remains of various periods, from antiquity to British rule, documented that there was an acropolis of the psophyses, as early as the 5th century. BC During the Venetian rule, the castle was a strong strategic fort, especially after the fall of Navarino, Metoni and Koroni (1500).
The Venetians invested significant resources to strengthen the corps and restore public buildings, such as wheat warehouses, gunpowder warehouses, administration and military attitudes. For centuries, strong earthquakes (1513, 1521, 1554 and mainly in 1953) destroyed parts of walls and buildings, gradually leading to the devastation of the castle.
Today, the Zakinfos castle is one of the most important monuments of the Ionian Sea, combining unique historical significance with an exciting view of the city and the sea.
“It was the administrative center of the island during the Venetian period”
As the Minister of Culture Lina Mendoni said: “The Ministry of Culture improves and expands the routes of viewing the archaeological place of the Zakintos castle, a cult attractions that attracts a large number of visitors, especially in the summer months. The Venetian castle Zakintos is located at the top of the hill, on the atmosphere, on the atmospheres, about the coating. The administrative center of the island during the Venetian occupation, conducted by the seitnes of the Venetian predictor, officials and the noble council of intervention, we increase the attractiveness of the Zakynfos castle as a cultural direction, while increasing the tourist product ZAKYNTHOS and a wider area.
What includes restoration research
The study approved by the Central Archaeological Council is aimed at emphasizing the monumental reserve of the site, the completion of the project to restore the monuments, which is carried out by the Department of Restoration of the Byzantine and post -Bisantine monuments, as well as universal accessibility.
For engraving routes, the current legislation is observed for open public places with permitted slopes. In places where the relief of the soil does not allow it, foresee it to install the lips. Thus, access to almost all monuments, squares, events and snacks, which are at the highest point of space, is provided to almost all monuments.
The history of the castle
The Venetian Fortress Zakinfos is located in the place where, according to written evidence, there were the walls of ancient acropolis (psophydrate).
The repeated large earthquakes that suffered from the island destroyed the fortifications, and as a result they were often repaired.
The construction of the walls and fortifications of the fortress, which were saved, was completed in 1646, when he argued that General da Mar was Baptt. Grimsi, from Venetian engineers with local craftsmen, with great care and durable materials.
Then there was the main powerful road reached by the coast, the famous sufferer of Justignan, Sarzada, as was based in our time. Significant intervention for maintenance and repair of walls and buildings of the fortress, when they looked after water and the sewer system, was made by corners in 1812, when they were dominant on the island.
Visible monuments, identified during the last excavations, date back to the Byzantine era before the British rule.